Exceptions / Requirements

Discussions related to custom development with Select.
Post Reply
bcole
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2022 10:00 am

Exceptions / Requirements

Post by bcole »

I need to be able to open an order via the SoftPro Select SDK, look at the order of the Requirements and Exceptions. I need to be able to re-order R & E within Softpro Select based on a business specific ordering logic. So my question is how best can this be achieved. Does the SDK provide a way to move Requirements and Exceptions up and down the way the Softpro Application allows you to? If that functionality doesn't exist in the SDK, can anyone provide and example of how it can be achieved through the database tables? I'm in a bit of a time crunch so any help would be greatly appreciated.
BobRichards
Posts: 1381
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 3:50 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC
Contact:

Re: Exceptions / Requirements

Post by BobRichards »

There is no out-of-the-box way to do this. The SDK would allow you to programmatically alter the order but you would have to have a good understanding of the order model. Requirement and Exception information is retained in the order itself. Copies of this information are written to the tables in the Select databases for reports. However, modifying the SQL tables will not alter the information in the order.

Bottom line, there is no "quick" way to do this nor pre-build logic laying around to perform this function. There are many ways to achieve what you are after, though.

Sorry I can't be of more help. You may want to contact the manager of our Custom Development department for additional information on this topic for the best solution to fit your needs. Contact Elliott.Potts@softprocorp.com.
Bob Richards, Senior Software Developer, SoftPro
bcole
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2022 10:00 am

Re: Exceptions / Requirements

Post by bcole »

Hello Bob, nearly a 2 years ago we implemented a way to resort requirements and exceptions. We used the SDK to remove the R&E's from the order and then add them back in the desired order. I am revisiting the post because, I need to modify our approach. Reordering within the SoftPro Select application maintains the original GUID that was created when a requirement and/or exception was first added. I would like to be able to rearrange the order without deleting and re-adding the commitment for reporting purposes. Does the SDK expose a way to change the order of requirements and exceptions on an order object?
BobRichards
Posts: 1381
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 3:50 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC
Contact:

Re: Exceptions / Requirements

Post by BobRichards »

Excellent job with your code to move them around. Sometimes I wish I could assign the Guid to objects for that very reason but the creation of an IOrderItem creates a new Guid for us and can't be changed.

Programmatic re-ordering can be done but I do not have any code that shows an example. As Requirements and Exceptions are IOrderItems with properties specific to the type of object, it would require experimentation to perform the moves - but it *should* be entirely possible.

Sadly, this topic is beyond scope for this DevForum because of the time required to research and create an answer for moving the items around. You can still contact us at the email in the prior post for help.

Sorry.
Bob Richards, Senior Software Developer, SoftPro
Post Reply