Cannot connect to SelectServer

Discussions related to SoftPro Select user interface development.

Moderator: Phil Barton

Post Reply
bandorganman
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2020 5:23 pm

Cannot connect to SelectServer

Post by bandorganman »

My system was just updated to the latest software and now when my software tries to connect to the SelectServer the following error occurs:

"This version of the Select client is not supported by the server."

How do I fix this?

Code: Select all

using (SelectServer ss = new SelectServer(new Uri("http://localhost:8080")))
            {
                string reason;
                if (!ss.TryAuthenticate(out reason))
                {
                    Results.Text = reason;
                    return;
                }
                else
                {
                    Results.Text = "Successfully connected to SoftPro Select Server\n\r";

                }
BobRichards
Posts: 1376
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 3:50 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC
Contact:

Re: Cannot connect to SelectServer

Post by BobRichards »

The client software version MUST match the version on the server. Get the DLLs from your server.
Bob Richards, Senior Software Developer, SoftPro
bandorganman
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2020 5:23 pm

Re: Cannot connect to SelectServer

Post by bandorganman »

This is on my development system, there is no server. I suspect that the SDK needs to be updated in Studio but for some reason the SDK setup says it cannot connect to the database.
BobRichards
Posts: 1376
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 3:50 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC
Contact:

Re: Cannot connect to SelectServer

Post by BobRichards »

I suspect that the application you are developing is referencing SoftPro DLLs that do not match the ones on the Server. Open your Visual Studio project and see where where the project thinks the DLLs are.
2022-01-24_13-32-09.jpg
2022-01-24_13-32-09.jpg (95.59 KiB) Viewed 2880 times
Make sure that the path points to a copy of the same DLLs that are being used by the server. They must match. I sounds like you need to get the DLLs from the server and copy them on your local machine or else change the path of the project files to point at the Select client that you installed on your dev machine. I usually point my my project under development to the local Select client.
Bob Richards, Senior Software Developer, SoftPro
bandorganman
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2020 5:23 pm

Re: Cannot connect to SelectServer

Post by bandorganman »

Thanks for pointing me in the right direction. Everything works now!
Post Reply