Printing Checks

Discussions related to custom development with Select.
Post Reply
ckootg
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2012 6:10 pm

Printing Checks

Post by ckootg »

How do I print checks? I'm finding that the PostPendingChecks and ReprintCheck methods do not actually print checks.
ckootg
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2012 6:10 pm

Re: Printing Checks

Post by ckootg »

I'm hoping someone can confirm that the PostPendingChecks and ReprintCheck methods doesn't actually print the check. But in the meantime, I'm trying to render the check/check stub manually. When I pass it the check transaction as the context, it renders blank. When I pass the transaction guid as a ISelectionRequest, since the crystal report accepts a string list for ContextID, it errors with a "Object reference not set to an instance of an object." error from SelectionBindingRequest. Any ideas what I'm doing wrong?

Code: Select all

var transaction = tm.GetTransaction(transactionInfo);
var rendering = renderer.Render(docInfo, transaction, null);

Code: Select all

var transaction = tm.GetTransaction(transactionInfo);
var prompts = new RenderPrompts(transaction.ID.Guid.ToString("B"));
var rendering = renderer.Render(docInfo, null, prompts);

...

public class RenderPrompts : IPrompt<PromptEventArgs>
{
    private string _contextID;

    // Pass in desired responses for requested prompt IDs.
    public RenderPrompts(string contextID)
    {
        _contextID = contextID;
    }

    public void Request(PromptEventArgs value)
    {
        foreach (var prompt in value.Requests)
        {
            if (prompt.ID == "ContextID")
            {
                ISelectionRequest<string> response = (ISelectionRequest<string>)prompt;
                response.Handled = true;
                response.Selected = new string[] { _contextID };
            }
        }
    }
}
BobRichards
Posts: 1377
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 3:50 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC
Contact:

Re: Printing Checks

Post by BobRichards »

As in a previous post (Print Check), the setup for the check reprint operation is fairly complex and is beyond the scope of this forum. If you need further information then you may want to contact the Custom Software Group at SoftPro.
Bob Richards, Senior Software Developer, SoftPro
chris.brady
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2012 4:20 pm

Re: Printing Checks

Post by chris.brady »

Understood that reprinting is beyond the scope of the forums, but what about just posting and printing checks? If we post a check transaction, it doesn't print, and it doesn't pull in the check number into the transaction reference number field. Are you saying standard check printing is also out of scope of the forums?

If not, can we see some sample code?
mikedrew
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2017 12:08 pm

Re: Printing Checks

Post by mikedrew »

Unfortunately it doesn't look like printing checks is possible through the public API
Mike Drew, Software Developer, SoftPro
Post Reply