Shell package configuration best practices

Discussions related to SoftPro Select user interface development.

Moderator: Phil Barton

turp1twin

Shell package configuration best practices

Post by turp1twin »

Hey SoftPro peeps,

So reading through the SDK help file and this support forum, I am having a hard time getting a "best practices" view of handling configuration for a shell package (dll). Perhaps part of the problem is I am a long time JVM developer but new to .Net (well, I haven't done any .Net development in a long, long time). I noticed that the shell template project that comes with the SDK creates an app.config file which upon building gets turned into a "dll-name.dll.config" file. That being said, it doesn't appear to be used or loaded by the ConfigurationManager in .Net. I have certain config settings that I need to set, and currently, I have had to set them in the select.exe.config file. Is this standard practice? If so, do most people update this file in the shell package installer? Perhaps I have missed a section in the SDK help file, or a post in this forum, but any pointers, sample code/projects, information, would be greatly appreciated.. Cheers!

Jeff
BobRichards

Re: Shell package configuration best practices

Post by BobRichards »

You have not missed anything in the SDK. DLLs usually don't have config files of their own in .NET. See C# DLL config file in .NET.

If you need a place to stash editable information, you are free the use the special folders lookup features. See Environment.GetFolderPath(..). There are folders dedicated to application data (Select) and user data (current logged in user).
Bob Richards, Senior Software Developer, SoftPro
turp1twin

Post by turp1twin »

Thanks! I will follow the link you sent me. As for the select.exe.config file there are some settings I need to put in here, specifically, I had to work around a json libray conflict by adding this to the "runtime" section:

<dependentAssembly>