Invalid URI Error Message

Discussions related to SoftPro Select user interface development.

Moderator: Phil Barton

Post Reply
dlerickson
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 11:35 am
Location: Austin, TX

Invalid URI Error Message

Post by dlerickson »

All,

I'm having trouble just getting the base Select client install to run. I've done fresh installs of the client twice now with machine restarts, and on starting the app, I get an error message that says "Invalid URI: the format of the URI could not be determined." Event logs reveal this:

Code: Select all

Failed to load dynamic client. Exception Type: System.AppDomainUnloadedException
Exception Message: The application domain in which the thread was running has been unloaded.
Stack Trace: 
Server stack trace: 
   at System.Threading.Thread.InternalCrossContextCallback(Context ctx, IntPtr ctxID, Int32 appDomainID, InternalCrossContextDelegate ftnToCall, Object[] args)
   at System.Runtime.Remoting.Channels.CrossAppDomainSink.DoTransitionDispatch(Byte[] reqStmBuff, SmuggledMethodCallMessage smuggledMcm, SmuggledMethodReturnMessage& smuggledMrm)
   at System.Runtime.Remoting.Channels.CrossAppDomainSink.SyncProcessMessage(IMessage reqMsg)

Exception rethrown at [0]: 
   at System.Runtime.Remoting.Proxies.RealProxy.HandleReturnMessage(IMessage reqMsg, IMessage retMsg)
   at System.Runtime.Remoting.Proxies.RealProxy.PrivateInvoke(MessageData& msgData, Int32 type)
   at SoftPro.Exchange.Client.DomainObjects.IClient.Initialize()
   at SoftPro.Exchange.Client.Management.ClientHostBase.LoadClient(ClientState state)
   at SoftPro.Exchange.Client.Management.ClientHostBase.SoftPro.Exchange.Client.Management.IClientHost.LoadClient()


Call Stack: 
   at System.Environment.GetStackTrace(Exception e, Boolean needFileInfo)
   at System.Environment.get_StackTrace()
   at System.Diagnostics.TraceEventCache.get_Callstack()
   at SoftPro.Select.LogTraceListener.OnLog(TraceEventCache eventCache, String message, TraceEventType eventType)
   at SoftPro.Select.LogTraceListener.TraceEvent(TraceEventCache eventCache, String source, TraceEventType eventType, Int32 id, String message)
   at System.Diagnostics.TraceInternal.TraceEvent(TraceEventType eventType, Int32 id, String format, Object[] args)
   at SoftPro.Exchange.Client.Management.ClientHostBase.SoftPro.Exchange.Client.Management.IClientHost.LoadClient()
   at SoftPro.Exchange.Client.Management.ClientHostFactory.<>c.<GetHost>b__0_0(Object state)
   at System.Threading.QueueUserWorkItemCallback.WaitCallback_Context(Object state)
   at System.Threading.ExecutionContext.RunInternal(ExecutionContext executionContext, ContextCallback callback, Object state, Boolean preserveSyncCtx)
   at System.Threading.ExecutionContext.Run(ExecutionContext executionContext, ContextCallback callback, Object state, Boolean preserveSyncCtx)
   at System.Threading.QueueUserWorkItemCallback.System.Threading.IThreadPoolWorkItem.ExecuteWorkItem()
   at System.Threading.ThreadPoolWorkQueue.Dispatch()
   at System.Threading._ThreadPoolWaitCallback.PerformWaitCallback()
   
And this:

Code: Select all

The commands for package 360 were not merged. Object reference not set to an instance of an object.

Call Stack: 
   at System.Environment.GetStackTrace(Exception e, Boolean needFileInfo)
   at System.Environment.get_StackTrace()
   at System.Diagnostics.TraceEventCache.get_Callstack()
   at SoftPro.Select.LogTraceListener.OnLog(TraceEventCache eventCache, String message, TraceEventType eventType)
   at SoftPro.Select.LogTraceListener.TraceEvent(TraceEventCache eventCache, String source, TraceEventType eventType, Int32 id, String message)
   at System.Diagnostics.TraceInternal.TraceEvent(TraceEventType eventType, Int32 id, String format, Object[] args)
   at SoftPro.Select.Managers.CommandManager.MergeCommandTables()
   at SoftPro.Select.Runtime.OnSetup()
   at SoftPro.Select.Runtime.Start()
   at SoftPro.Select.Automation.EnvICE.Start()
   at System.Runtime.Remoting.Messaging.Message.Dispatch(Object target)
   at System.Runtime.Remoting.Messaging.StackBuilderSink.SyncProcessMessage(IMessage msg)
   at System.Runtime.Remoting.Messaging.ServerObjectTerminatorSink.SyncProcessMessage(IMessage reqMsg)
   at SoftPro.Select.Shell.SynchronizationContextAspect.SyncProcessMessage(IMessage msg)
   at System.Runtime.Remoting.Lifetime.LeaseSink.SyncProcessMessage(IMessage msg)
   at System.Runtime.Remoting.Messaging.ServerContextTerminatorSink.SyncProcessMessage(IMessage reqMsg)
   at System.Runtime.Remoting.Channels.CrossContextChannel.SyncProcessMessageCallback(Object[] args)
   at System.Threading.Thread.CompleteCrossContextCallback(InternalCrossContextDelegate ftnToCall, Object[] args)
   at System.Threading.Thread.InternalCrossContextCallback(Context ctx, IntPtr ctxID, Int32 appDomainID, InternalCrossContextDelegate ftnToCall, Object[] args)
   at System.Runtime.Remoting.Channels.CrossContextChannel.SyncProcessMessage(IMessage reqMsg)
   at System.Runtime.Remoting.Proxies.RemotingProxy.CallProcessMessage(IMessageSink ms, IMessage reqMsg, ArrayWithSize proxySinks, Thread currentThread, Context currentContext, Boolean bSkippingContextChain)
   at System.Runtime.Remoting.Proxies.RemotingProxy.InternalInvoke(IMethodCallMessage reqMcmMsg, Boolean useDispatchMessage, Int32 callType)
   at System.Runtime.Remoting.Proxies.RemotingProxy.Invoke(IMessage reqMsg)
   at System.Runtime.Remoting.Proxies.RealProxy.PrivateInvoke(MessageData& msgData, Int32 type)
   at SoftPro.Select.Automation.EnvICE.Start()
   at SoftPro.Select.Automation.EnvICE.Run(String rootSuffix, Boolean noSplash, Boolean setupMode, Boolean log, Boolean embedding, Boolean allowMultipleInstances, Boolean detectLeaks, Dictionary`2 args, String freeArg)
   at SoftPro.Select.Program.Main(String[] args)
I'm also noticing that there is no registry entry at HKLM\Software\SoftPro.

Any help is appreciated.
dlerickson
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 11:35 am
Location: Austin, TX

Re: Invalid URI Error Message

Post by dlerickson »

OK, I was able to fix the problem by manually ripping out all the user files in my AppData folder, and going into the registry and making sure all our package registrations were removed. Also, I should note that the registry key was NOT HKLM\Software\SoftPro as indicated in the SDK documentation, but is HKLM\Software\WOW6432Node\SoftPro.
BobRichards
Posts: 1376
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 3:50 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC
Contact:

Re: Invalid URI Error Message

Post by BobRichards »

Sorry for your problems and glad you got it working!

The registry path reflects that the installed app is 32-bit but the machine is 64-bit. Windows has to play tricks to allow 32-bit apps to see a 32-bit world and not the actual machine environment. Without this, the app will break. If the app were installed on a 32-bit machine, it would not use a "Wow6432Node" folder. We should update our documentation.
Bob Richards, Senior Software Developer, SoftPro
Post Reply