new license key for 4.3 upgrade?

Discussions related to SoftPro Select user interface development.

Moderator: Phil Barton

Post Reply
czentman
Posts: 157
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 12:02 pm

new license key for 4.3 upgrade?

Post by czentman » Tue Feb 13, 2018 11:20 am

I am upgrading from 4.1 to 4.3. It seems to need a new license since it only works with /rootSuffix:Exp in command line arguments. If I don't have that there, my ribbon tab doesn't show up. It has a license key from 4.1.

BobRichards
Posts: 1009
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 3:50 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC
Contact:

Re: new license key for 4.3 upgrade?

Post by BobRichards » Tue Feb 13, 2018 4:28 pm

If Select changes major or minor version numbers (x.y) then you must rebuild your package to reference the new Select DLLs.

As a separate issue, if you change the public/private key, version, or culture of your shell package for whatever reason, you will need a new SoftPro package license.
Bob Richards, Software Developer, SoftPro

czentman
Posts: 157
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 12:02 pm

Re: new license key for 4.3 upgrade?

Post by czentman » Wed Feb 14, 2018 1:51 pm

Yes, I know about the new select dll's. I did that. But now, how can I get the new licenses?

BobRichards
Posts: 1009
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 3:50 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC
Contact:

Re: new license key for 4.3 upgrade?

Post by BobRichards » Wed Feb 14, 2018 2:42 pm

The instructions are in the SDK help file at Cookbook/All Packages and API Projects/How do I get a Package License? Review the information regarding creating the fully qualified assembly name for your package then contact SoftPro Sales at (800)848-0143 for assistance.
Bob Richards, Software Developer, SoftPro

czentman
Posts: 157
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 12:02 pm

Re: new license key for 4.3 upgrade?

Post by czentman » Wed Feb 14, 2018 2:49 pm

does it make sense that my fully qualified name is the same as it was in 4.1?

BobRichards
Posts: 1009
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 3:50 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC
Contact:

Re: new license key for 4.3 upgrade?

Post by BobRichards » Wed Feb 14, 2018 2:54 pm

If you did not change the package class names/namespaces, public/private key, version, or culture, then it will be the same.
Bob Richards, Software Developer, SoftPro

Post Reply