Management Console - Users

Discussions related to custom development with Select.
Post Reply
enendza
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2019 12:22 pm

Management Console - Users

Post by enendza » Thu Apr 23, 2020 6:45 am

Hi -

We have a number of users that have the checkbox "Allow edit" on their user profilt set to true.

Two questions:

What does this flag mean / do? Does it mean that the user doesn't get updated from Active Directory?
Where in the database can I globally update this flag?

See print screen

Thanks in advance for your help

Emma
Attachments
SoftProUserAuth.png
SoftProUserAuth.png (29.45 KiB) Viewed 2130 times

BobRichards
Posts: 917
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 3:50 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC
Contact:

Re: Management Console - Users

Post by BobRichards » Fri Apr 24, 2020 8:57 am

The ability to create/update/delete user information is controlled by a permission in the SPAdmin Management Console. The separate permission settings can be applied to groups and/or users. (Location in SPAdmin: Security/Permissions, Permissions/SPAdmin/Users/Groups)

I *believe* the purpose of this checkbox is to enable the textboxes so the user information can be changed - assuming they have the permissions listed above. I don't see a reason normal users should have this permission. You may want to consider removing the permission from normal users and leaving it to you administrators to create new users, delete old ones, and change/view potentially sensitive user information.
Bob Richards, Software Developer, SoftPro

enendza
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2019 12:22 pm

Re: Management Console - Users

Post by enendza » Sun Apr 26, 2020 8:42 pm

Thanks - I thought it was just a UI element to enable the fields BUT ... After I edit and save the changes I go back to the user record DAYS later and the checkbox is still checked. I was thinking this was database driven.

It was also reported the the Active Directory updates don't work if the user profile has this checkbox checked? Ever heard of that issue happening?

I can't find anything in the database related to this field, therefore, validating it is just a UI field, but that doesn't explain the behavior that was reported above.

BobRichards
Posts: 917
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 3:50 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC
Contact:

Re: Management Console - Users

Post by BobRichards » Mon Apr 27, 2020 12:00 pm

This was trickier than I initially thought. Good job pressing for a better answer. I found a developer that works in this area.

When the box is checked for an Active Directory user, it means that you want to modify previously written information synced from AD with a different value. While checked, subsequent AD changes will be ignored so the manually entered info is not overwritten.
Bob Richards, Software Developer, SoftPro

enendza
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2019 12:22 pm

Re: Management Console - Users

Post by enendza » Wed Apr 29, 2020 7:16 am

Hi Bob -

Thanks for the additional info. Now is there a FLAG in the DB that I can "flip" so that no user profile is in EDIT mode?

BobRichards
Posts: 917
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 3:50 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC
Contact:

Re: Management Console - Users

Post by BobRichards » Wed Apr 29, 2020 11:40 am

You can see the users that are in the editable mode:

Code: Select all

SELECT *
FROM core.SecurityIdentity s
JOIN core.SecurityIdentityProperty p
ON s.ID = p.SecurityIdentityID
WHERE p.Name = 'AllowUserOverride'
	AND p.Value = 'true'
But if the Edit checkbox is reset, the original values do not return. I even forced a Select AD sync but that did not restore it either. I will have to send this to another department for answers. How important is this to you?
Bob Richards, Software Developer, SoftPro

enendza
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2019 12:22 pm

Re: Management Console - Users

Post by enendza » Sat May 02, 2020 8:52 am

Let me check with the client - thanks for the response

enendza
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2019 12:22 pm

Re: Management Console - Users

Post by enendza » Tue May 05, 2020 7:16 am

Thanks for the response. When I test this in our environment on the click event of the "Edit" button (turning it off) the information changes. ?? Anyway, I think we are good for now. Thanks again for the help

Post Reply